Don't Worry-I'm a Pro

By AllenFreeman

First Fall

Ok, I get up, and decide to mail something. Get my coat on, hat etc... I get the item to mail. I open the door and it is very cold outside, of course. I then see the walkway to the mailbox looks wet. Maybe a light rain? I take one step off the dry porch and the next thing I know I'm in the air with no hope of catching myself this time. (Yeah, I've had a few close calls already this year.) I had enough time to plan my fall as to not do any serious damage. I then have to crawl to the porch as there is no hope of walking on this super hard, slick ice flow. Even the rocks near our bushes are fozen and slick. So far it seems I just have a sore leg and a slight headache so it could have been worse.

I left a note on the inside of our door with a big warning to my step-daughter to be careful. Actually it should read-Don't go outside!

Update: We now have a new coating of ice over the ice...and it is still coming down. Now, if I only I had some skates. My step-daughter made it to her car but it is frozen solid. She is trying to scrape it with no luck so far. Such determination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.