Only prayer is Thank You

By gr8tfulkaren

Peace River

This heron was sitting quietly on the Peace River as we paddled as inconspicuously as 4 noisy, inexperienced humans can. It was a beautiful day and we were rewarded with lots of wildlife including alligators. This is one of my favorite pictures of that day.

If I had the camera out at the end of the trip, I could have captured one of the funniest moments of my life. Josh and I had already arrived at the dock and were unloading our canoe. Dave and Kailey were a few minutes behind us. Kailey being a normal teenage girl was looking at the boys on the dock as she approached the end of the journey. She was no longer keeping her eye on the water for logs and sunken trees. Dave paddled the canoe straight up onto a log and the canoe tipped both of them into the river. Dave was not as angry as I thought he would be. And the kind boys on the dock didn't laugh too hard. I did. I laughed all the way back to the car. Of course, Dave was upset that I didn't capture the moment with a photo. I don't think he would have responded well if I asked him to smile for the camera while he was struggling in the river. In fact, I am sure he would have thrown something my way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.