slow children playing

By jenB

Guitar in the garden

I've been at-home chief-cook-and-bottlewasher since Daniel was born, over 14 years ago. I haven't missed my previous incarnation very much at all.

I have a PhD in Genetics, and worked as a researcher at the University. The last project I worked on concerned a gene implicated in cancer. Sounds exciting, doesn't it? And the truth is, sometimes, but very rarely, it is. Most days are very much the same as the day before: endlessly repeating and perfecting experiments, lots of reading (it's hard to keep abreast of a huge and fast-moving field), attending seminars and meetings...Some days there was a "result" - something worth writing home about - and you couldn't help feeling elated. Most days not. I guess it just wasn't the career path for me, after all - the thrill I felt as an undergraduate, learning about all the highlights in the field of genetics could not be maintained under the mundanity of daily life working as a scientist.

Today, the work I've been doing has been very different. I've baked a loaf, made soup, whizzed up a smoothie. I've painted a set of shelves. I've hoed the garden. Washed dishes, twice. I've planted seeds. Washed three loads of washing. Swept the floor. I still have a list of things waiting - it's only lunchtime, after all.

The best part today, so far? Daniel played guitar for me while I was planted the carrot and lettuce seeds in the garden. The best part of the "work-life" I've been lucky enough to choose - being here whenever they want to play guitar, have friends round for tea, just hang out at home. Actually, I'm just plain old Mum - part of the furniture. They hardly notice that I'm here, but they'd notice soon enough if I wasn't. I like that they can take me for granted.

That's my job.



My entry for this weeks's 2011 challenge "Work".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.