CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Duck and chicks

This afternoon I forced myself to attend a regular Canal Forum meeting which is hosted by our MP, Neil C. I really should have been doing other productive work, but I am glad I went. It was an interesting gathering of skilled people who would never normally meet like this. We are trying to find a basis for attracting future investment that will benefit the community from the re-development of the Stroudwater Canal. I had my town councillor's hat on , which is up for renewal in the imminent elections. In fact I will be standing against our MP's researcher, who is one of the very few Tories who are offering themselves to the electorate here. When we left I asked Neil if I could photograph him but didn't ask him if I could Blip him, so I haven't used it.

I decided to have a look at a couple of the canal-side zones that might be suitable for development into either a new boating basin or for some retail development sites that might be needed to pay for the other less commercial aspects. It will be a long process.

I walked along the towpath to the edge of town, where the completely new bridge over the A46 road is under construction. I took the opportunity of photographing the works including the massive crane and the odd unfinished concrete structures. On the way back along the canal, I noticed female duck had her chicks with her on the water. As I approached she gathered all eight of the chicks and shooed them up a small bank and into the long grass and herbage to hide them away from this dangerous man.

I was really excited to see them, especially after yesterday's lambs, as their presence seemed to express the energy and vitality of springtime. I took some more interesting close-ups of the duck, the chicks and her mate, but am blipping this shot because it shows the ducklings. I can already hear the 'aaaah's or 'awww's from you lot. It isn't a great shot, nor is it sharp but it is my blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.