Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Forget-me-not

When to the flowers
so beautiful the Father gave a name,
Back came a little blue-eyed one
(All timidly it came);
And standing at its Father's feet
and gazing in His face,
It said, in low and trembling tone
and with a modest grace,
"Dear God, the name Thou gavest me,
Alas I have forgot!"
Kindly the Father looked him down
and said: "Forget-me-not."

~By Emily Bruce Roelofson~


I remember, at nine years old, having to learn this little poem. That wasn't at all difficult. What was horrendously impossible was having to stand up the next day in class and recite it. Difficult years. Do children still stammer? Every day living a nightmare!

I have to say this to try, 50 years on, to get it out of my system! I cannot see these pretty little flowers without remembering that day.

But, on a brighter note, what more could you wish for in life that you wouldn't be forgotten!

For all the best reasons of course!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.