Judith's photos

By Judith

Baby wood pigeon

I spotted this youngster just after 7 this morning. I've just had another look and it's still there but has moved around a bit. I've had a look on the RSPB website and found this advice: If you find a fledgling, a young bird with most of it feathers, on the ground please leave it alone, its parents are likely to be nearby and will feed it and lead it to safety. I'm going to leave it well alone but might pop out to check on it later on this afternoon.

I didn't get anything like this close - these photos were taken from a fair way back and then cropped.

Update: it's still around, still looking fit and healthy. It's moved from where it was to a slightly more secluded spot, but in any case we hardly ever have any cats around here. I've put out lots of tasty goodies on the bird feeders and the adult wood pigeons have been feeding well. Fingers crossed.

Another update: it must have been collected by Mum and Dad as it's gone, and there's nothing to suggest that it met a nasty end!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.