Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Quoth the Raven "Nevermore"

"Does wisdom perhaps appear on the earth as a raven which is inspired by the smell of carrion?"

- Friedrich Nietzsche

There were about five ravens knocking about on the platform this afternoon, and I made a fool of myself with my camera trying to get a good shot. I got closer than I expected to this one, but the photos were still not as crisp as I would have liked.

Taken with my Lumix, and in Photogene on my iPad I sharpened, dropped the contrast a touch, lightened shadows a bit, slightly desaturated it, and moved the mid-point in the histogram. That was all to try to have some detail showing while keeping the blackness of the bird. It's quite hard really, because it is such deep glossy black;the camera seems to have trouble showing all that the eye can distinguish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.