Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Exit Stage Left

I managed a quick circle round Baildon Hill today. It was rather grey, but still nice to get out and clear my head.

This wasn't the picture that I thought I'd be sharing with you, but when I came to view what I'd taken I just loved this image. The Crow isn't quite pin sharp, but the effect of movement against the trees, an unintentional effect of panning as I'm taking the picture, is really pleasing.

I've put a cropped image here, which has a slightly different impact.

I had good luck with birds - lots of Skylarks and Meadow Pipits as always, but also a Kestrel (which led me to its nest), Curlew, Oystercatcher, Lapwing, and Partridge.

I collected a nice image of a Kestrel feather(I think) snared in the undergrowth, which on another day would have easily been my blip.

I also took a short video clip of the Partridges, as two of them spent minutes chasing each other around a field. I'm not sure it is unusual behaviour, but it was entertaining.

crow ~ in flight ~ long fingers ~ smear ~ the landscape

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.