Placid Casual

By Barnaby_Nutt

i'm off for a bike ride tomorrow to see the in-laws. the thing is, they live 800 miles away. follow my progress here: http://bit.ly/gB8anihere


It doesn't look a lot to last two weeks, across four countries and about 1300km does it? It'll feel a whole lot more when I'm dragging it across Europe though.
So I'm almost ready to go. A nice meal tomorrow night and then a steady start on Saturday. A few of the boys from the club are joining us for some of the ride to Cambridge which will be great.

My parents came round tonight to wish me well. I could tell as they left that they were worried about me. It got me thinking about whether or not what I was doing was irresponsible in some way. Was it unfair on the people who care about me? Was it just a really selfish thing to do?
I need to think more about this, but I guess they should be happy that I'm doing something that I will get an awful lot from. I never really consider the dangers of cycling but when I do, I usually conclude that as a cyclist I am best placed to judge how safe or otherwise it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.