wingpig

By wingpig

cranny

Untouched by the fire which knackered the Gilded Balloon and La Belle Angèle, this little nook off Hastie's Close between the Cowgate and Guthrie Street currently stores a few binbags, smashed bottles and the sad, stale air of broken dreams. One difference since the fire is that this alley is entirely deserted at most times of the day and night except during the festival. Whilst I wasn't particularly fond of the Gilded Balloon La Belle Angèle was one of the most interestingly convoluted buildings in the city. Each time I went in it it seemed to be a different shape.

One day when I get some time I'll have to fish out all the old-fangled photochemical pictures I took when I first moved up here and do a quick sweep of the locations to see what has changed. It's a pity my range was much more limited back then; places which I now walk past every day seemed really strange and distant whenever I found myself in them twelve years ago. Still, I've now lived up here longer than I lived where I lived before I lived up here so it's only fair that it feels more familiar.

Still no bids. Whilst I'm slightly glad that people have wised up to bidding too early I wish they could consider the effect their apparent disinterest has on the seller.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.