While on my runs

By waipushrink

Williamson's

A wet morning persuaded me to have a lie in, and I ended up with a late afternoon run. A circuit along local streets took me along Ponsonby Road and past the start of Williamson Avenue. Stopped for the lights and was reminded of this building.

The former Borough Council Chambers and Fire Station building dates from 1889 and was designed by John Mitchell. It resembles many American fire stations of the period.

It has had many other roles after it (the Grey Lynn Station) and the Ponsonby Fire Station were united in a new facility on Ponsonby Road. At one stage it was a tea shop. In the 1970s it became a restaurant, a role it has had ever since through a number of different owners and styles.

For the last year or two it has housed Williamson's, a cafe and bar. The external structure remains unaltered despite all the changes within. The young walker is unknown to me and she was walking swiftly, coming into the view before I noticed. Decided not to crop the picture as she shows a part of the life of this area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.