wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

The hills are alive...

Well what else could I title this?? Went to see ExitLeft's production of The Sound of Music this evening, and enjoyed it rather a lot. It's been booked in for months after a friend got a good deal through work for tickets, so it was nice to have something compulsory to stop studying for. I'm not the world's greatest fan of the movie, although I have seen it a couple of times, and will happily sing along, but I do love going to the thee-aye-ter. Although this was at the Derwent Entertainment Centre, a large venue that hosts all sorts of events throughout the year, from rock concerts to home shows to carpet sales to car rallys. And of course, large scale productions. We don't get many of them down our way, but there's a couple of companies around that do a pretty good production every year or so.

This one had a nice smattering of big Australian names (or so the program tells us), plus some of our own celebrities who pop up in everything, and some great newcomers (although being Hobart, we all went to school with them... Quite literally). The stage rotated, with five scenes set up, including a lovely inside/outside versatile abbey and some mountains. The music was lovely (although occasionally a little piercing), with some fantastic voices, but I will admit I found the Captain a little creepy, his delivery of lines was a bit sleazy. Completely unintentional, I'm sure, and I know not everything thought it. But generally, not bad at all.

And now I must be off to bed. Much to learn tomorrow. So close to semi-freedom now. I can smell the sunshine...

And here's a couple of crazy Disney characters from yesterday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.