Chiara

By Chiara

Roosevelt road

I am right by the very end of Roosevelt road. The building on the horizon is the Shedd Aquarium, and it's built on the lake.

Roosevelt road goes about 100 miles straight out west to Dixon, IL. I wonder what the very end of the route looks like out there.

I was supposed to go out to a nightclub tonight to celebrate Nate's friend's birthday but I'm just beat so I just stayed home. I'm shooting a film next Tuesday and I'm trying to get everything together before then. The last time I shot a film, it was a disaster. One of the actors didn't show up, everything was delayed due to some equipment malfunction at the Film Cage (equipment rental center at school), and worse of all, the film roll got destroyed by the lab so I had to reshoot the entire thing. This time, I'm going to be a control freak. Every little thing, down to the last detail, will be pre-planned. That way, my biggest worry will be whether my film will come out fine. The processing lab better not fuck it up again. If this happens, I'll unleash a Bolex boycott and hopefully all the other film students at my school will follow suit.

It's ridiculous that the school is making us use old rickety film cameras that are as reliable as minivans in an icy blizzard. If it were up to me, I'd make the students practice with Sony PMW-EX1's or something similar to that. Once they get the basics (composition, direction, angles, etc.) down, they'll advance to modern film cameras until they can work the things with their eyes closed. The final step will be these awful crappy Bolex cameras. By then the students will be experienced enough to work their ways around the camera's faulty limitations.

But what can I say? I'm just a 22-year-old kid who knows nothing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.