Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Hans Rosling and Gapminder

Some experiences are life changing and attending this lecture by Hans Rosling who heads up the Gapminder Foundation was one of them. Hans is based at the University of Uppsala (which made me think of you Bo).

With lots of humour thrown in, Hans showed us how many of our perceptions about countries are at least ten years out of date. The visual way of showing data brought it to life for me (I'm fairly dyslexic when it comes to numbers) as I much prefer seeing things visually ( I guess most people do which is why Gapminder is so successful). His talk impressed me so much I wanted to share it with fellow blippers. This conference was `work' for me this weekend - but with opportunities to listen to speakers of Hans Rosling's calibre who's complaining!

My journey home was a different story with signalling problems at Leicester causing my train to be delayed ... and then we all had to get off at Derby and onto the next train for Sheffield - so one hour late I finally arrived it Sheffield. Having now acquired a cold I was far too tired to blip last night - so early bed and backblip this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.