Another Day

By pcc

The Chook that Laid an Egg

Left Balclutha this morning, after a last visit to our mother for a time.
We had enjoyed our time together and had quite a few 'giggles' together.
A grey day - good for driving, as it is about a 6 hour journey.
Every time I have travelled this route I have never stopped at this Chook and egg, but always admired it, as it has been there for years, and keeps growing.

It is in an area about halfway between Dunedin and Oamaru, and is called -
Waianakarua. A name I could never get my tongue around in earlier days.
But I have learnt to say it - Y nak a rooa - give it a go - I love the way it rolls off the tongue.
Do not know what it means in maori, but it is a farming area, and has an old stone bridge that crosses the Waianakarua River which goes out into the Pacific.

Lucky I took this photo when I did, as the heavens opened up and we had heavy rain for the rest of the journey back to Christchurch.

Thanks for all the hearts and stars for yesterdays image, and I hope to make some comments later this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.