Lali's World

By Lali

Story beginnings 3

"Nadia woke up with a start.

Her dream had been interrupted at the very wrong moment. Something very interesting was just about to happen, but didn't; something to do with... a magic box, or so she thought.
Puffy eyed and still half asleep, she turned her head in the direction of the noise that had woken her up. She looked slightly annoyed, sheet marks still on her cheek and her big frizzy hair all flat and sticking up on the side she'd been sleeping on.

"What was that?" she mumbled, and closed her eyes again, sinking her head in the pillow hoping to catch the dream at the point where she had left it, but no such luck. What she didn't suspect was that this particular box would trigger a whole series of unusual events in which she would play a very important role indeed... you will soon find out..."


This is actually the beginning of a children's book I wrote years ago while I was doing my writing course. I've never been entirely happy with it, so I've re-written it a few times. It looks like it will be a forever work in progress never to be published, but that doesn't bother me because I had so much fun writing it, and that's what counts!

Yesterday I didn't go out at the end, and it was not for lack of opportunities. I had a concert/birhtday party to attend or I could have met some friends to watch the Barça game last night. But I stayed home because I hadn't fully recovered from my cold and I was feeling really tired.

So feeling fresh and full of energy this morning, and I'm going for a walk with my new friend, the expert in electronics. The weather looks really good for it!

Thanks very much for all your comments. I hope you all have a nice Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.