Copenhagen and Me.

By RtCph

Signs of Summer

I was just sitting down in one of my local parks thinking of something to Blip when this guy came along and gave me this shot. This time I'm not worried about the candid nature of this shot as we can't see his face and I doubt very much that he is Norwegian.

I had to post this because it illustrates a number of things about Denmark (and Scandonavia in general). What this retired grey haired gent is looking for is empty cans/bottles with a deposit on them. Every drinks container sold here (except wine bottles & boxes) must be recylable and have a deposit of A,B or C value (depending on size) and every retailer selling such must offer a cash return for them. Supermarkets have refined this down to a machine that sucks in the cans/bottles down just one hole and spits out a barcode token which can be spent or exchanged. With the values starting at 14 pence (20 cents ?) it can be worth checking popular drinking places for a little extra income. As you can see this guy doesn't dress like he really needs the cash but here he is. Our man here is clearly an amateur as he has no shopping cart. It can be seen, therefore, as a form of charity to litter in certain cases.

On personal note, I have signed up for "Vi cykler til arbejde" [We're cycling to work] which will mean for the whole of May I will be gettting on my bike for the 22km treck to and from work (that's 11km e/w). I go past a whole bunch of very blipable things that include: A funky leaning hotel, an overhead ultra modern train line, a nature reserve, a work of art and a motocross school. Should get a blip somewhere in there.

Kewben - the old couple has hit 3000 views, what did you do?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.