A chef's day...

By chef

Nasi Goreng a la moi!

We have guests staying and tonight I cooked nasi goreng (Indonesian Fried Rice). It is a dish I have grown up with like English people have roast dinner. Every family have their own version and tonight mine was vegetarian as I had no meat available. It wasn't strictly vegetarian as I used trasi which is a paste made from fermented prawns. The vegetables I used today were, spring onions, pak choi, mushrooms, red pepper, chilli, ginger, garlic, asparagus, carrot, mange tout and courgette.
I served it with atjar (pickled vegetables), sambal (chilli paste) and emping (kind of like prawn crackers but made from nuts). I finished the rice with fried egg and kecap manis (sweet soy sauce).

All very nice and I finished the dinner with strawberries and ice cream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.