mariopix

By mariopix

'I want it because'

Painting 3, 2011. Oil on canvas, 10 x 10 inches. Painting video.

Painted a couple of days ago right after yesterday's blip. The original title was 'Desire is good' which worked for the old painting, before it got painted over. Was hesitant about repainting this because it was not a bad painting. Having painted it when I was still using paint brushes, I've since gone more to utilizing palette knives in the last several works.

As I was making the video looked up the old title and felt it doesn't work as well with the new colors and was tempted to add more paint, skew it so that it would fit the old title better. However I know that if I did that it would change the whole thing drastically and it already looks fine the way it is. At least for now. Why not throw new paint on the next piece instead?

Calling this 'I want it because'. Desiring or wanting something (a new situation, money, whatever) is the most natural thing. How I got back to painting again. I pulled out my notebook, began writing to clear up my head and focused on answering the question 'Why paint?' Figuring out the 'how to' does not move things forward. Finding out why I want something for some reason clears away the resistance much easier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.