Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Another West Philly Glance

I blipped the front of this place around the holidays, when it was decked out with its Christmas lights. "The Gables" will soon be enveloped in the leaves and blossoms of its tall trees, and since I had little chance to get a good blip today, I thought I should give a nod to the side view. Built in 1889, when this neighborhood was almost all farms, it sits at the end of a row of houses the same age. The house has gone from private residence to Catholic dormitory, and finally it is a Bed & Breakfast and very clearly the architectural queen of West Philadelphia. This picture does not offer her in her full glory, but rather a glance at her, as she looks when I ride by bike along 46th Street, very familiar to my eye. I thought I'd share another of these local glances, as earlier examples have been well received.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.