Fake Skylines

By fakeyskies

Tai O, Lautau

Tai O probably is one of my favourite place in Hong Kong.

(In case you don't know, Hong Kong is not just ONE BIG city, but consists of Hong Kong Island, the Kowloon Peninsula, the New Territories, and over 200 offshore islands, of which the largest is Lantau Island.)

Tai O is located in the northernwest of Lautau. It's a fishing town, filled with Stilt houses built on the water or small beaches. For me, Tai O is always a highly recommended spot for tourists, it shows a different angle of this metropolitan city. It's called "Hong Kong's Venice"/ "Eastern Venice", a famous place for seafood (other than Sai Kung!). You can also try out its traditional salted fish, shrimp paste and fish maw if you're interested ;)

The town is not very large, a three-hours walk is enough, of course you need to spare some more time on transpot to go there.

I haven't been there for like 2 years, and my mind kept telling me I should have a visit before the period of "You would have no more weekdays". There are now some reclamation may destroy a bit the view, also the hazy sky...

So, not much really good photos today*sad* That's why I can only blip this: low tide time... a bit weird actrally...

edit - changed blip at the end. I don't know which is better, may change again -,-

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.