Fire In The Hole

These are the minutemen from my town practicing for the Patriots' Day activities tomorrow. As I've mentioned in the past, these groups are really ceremonial now; they march in parades and fire volleys on special occasions such as Memorial Day and the Patriots' Day. Like other local groups of minutemen and colonial militia groups, they will march Concord tomorrow and assemble on the north side of the Old North Bridge where minutemen from surrounding towns gathered over two hundred years ago and turned back the British in the first skirmish of the American Revolution.

Before I moved to New England, I found American History to be, well, quite boring. Seeing it come to life every year and living in the same setting as so many historical events has actually brought out the inner patriot in me. I now look forward to Patriots' Day Weekend every year and reliving an important part of American History.

____________

Not the best photo (this exemplifies why I prefer overcast days to sunny days for shots like this), but I was quite pleased with the timing. If you look closely, you can see the gun powder blast in both the breech and at the end of the musket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.