NONUI

Partly because of the one-year-ago thing I've found myself going through old pictures more frequently recently, partly to look to see what I used to take pictures of and partly to check that I've not gone completely downhill recently and started taking rubbish pictures except when someone happens to be sitting or leaning against something and not checking around for people taking their picture in my field of view.

On reflection I reckon half the problem is thinking that I can't take a picture of something because I've already done it even it if is just gathering dust on my hard drive when it didn't make it either as a blip or linked alternative. That might be slightly responsible for the unconscious trapped theme noticed on Thursday by doobs. Apart from the illuminated pillars next to the William Robertson building on George Square and the traditional annual picture from pavement level on Gilmour Street I've been trying to not repeat anything although there are plenty of shots which are almost identical except for the different subject and different location where they are joined by a common pose or stance. Aroundabout this time last year I remember deliberately trying not to repeat pictures I had liked at the time which were taken with my s9500 or even the s5000 which I would now be horrified by, mostly for the noise, distortion or optical softness but also for the composition and attitude. At least now that I spend much less time fretting about sharpness, noise and distortion (and can deal with them more effectively when they're noticeable) I can and do spend more time just taking the pictures. I shall maybe try and curb the links again a bit just so that I'm only using up one pictures' worth of the world each day.

A lot of the problem recently has just been not writing what I was thinking about when I could remember thinking about it and only trying when I had either dropped the flow or lost the thread or forgotten the eventual point. The odd mentalbusy workweek didn't help. A few days of properly long walks combined with fairly restrained picturetaking seem to have eased the fretting a little. I think a little extra effort to get back to getting up properly early in the mornings so that I get a bit of pre-dawn blueygloom on the morning walktowork should ease it further. There's be less people about too which is always handy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.