Rainy Day in Oregon

By jerispics

Wild Cat

Lynx rufus. Commonly known as bobcat, because of its short tail.

Headed in to town late this a.m. and spotted this cat pretty close to the road actually. By the time it registered with me that it was a bobcat I was past it quite a ways. Turned around, put the big lens on the camera and headed back. He had moved a bit further out into the field and when I stopped he started walking quickly away from me. He would stop every so often and look back at me and that is when I was able to shoot him. Hand held, in the car, looking out the rolled down passenger window. Of course it's not the clearest pic but not so bad that I couldn't use it here. Don't often see them so this is my blip for the day, no matter what comes along later. (Unless a unicorn or bigfoot show up).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.