PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Carpentry & Convalescence

Just realised I'm too late for the 'work' challenge, but this could represent 'growth', too. My husband is no carpenter, but just look at this lovely lap-table that he made me. It enables me to sit in a comfy chair, with my feet up, while writing, reading or tapping away on my laptop. Indeed, I am christening it right now as I write this journal.

The book stand (displaying a book that, in true Blue Peter style, I prepared earlier!) adjusts to two different angles and clicks satisfyingly in place for when I want a flat table top. Isn't it gorgeous?! When I know woodwork is not his favourite occupation, I appreciate it all the more. All this between cooking meals, keeping me supplied with hot and cold drinks, visiting my mother in her temporary care-home, mowing the lawn, etc. And the air didn't even turn blue!

My lap-table is, I should add, custom-built from scratch, with not a kit in sight. I'm sooo proud of him. He informs me that, taking into account time, labour and materials, it probably cost in excess of £2000! Worth every penny, I'd say! :-)

PS Don't miss my African Violets in full bloom in the background, all propogated from leaf cuttings. Now they definitely tick the 'growth' topic box!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.