this luminous life.

By Laura

Oscar See Through Red Eye.

Boards of Canada.

[EDIT] Immediately after posting this,
I sat down to watch the Oscars..
....then the fire alarm went off. How ironic. And funtastic.


It was another one of those days where I didn't have any idea of what to blip, and then I remembered I had a box of matches in a drawer that perhaps I could do something with. I attempted to arrange them into words. It didn't turn out quite well so I just placed them in a pile and blipped it. Oh well.

However, arranging these matches reminded me of an Eddie Izzard joke in which he compares British to American films. In addition, tonight is the 80th Annual Academy Awards... so I thought it'd be somewhat fitting to include the Eddie Izzard clip.

Clip can be viewed here.

Here is part of the transcript:

But we've got known in Britain for making the smaller films, you know. Recently, we've been pulling out of that into the more "Trainspotting" area, but the smaller films, they're kind of "A Room With A View" and "A Staircase And A Pond"-type movies. Films with very fine acting, but the drama is rather sort of subsued and - subsumed or - a word like that. Sub- something or another. You know, just folded in and everything's people opening doors.

"Oh, I'm - oh, what? Well, I've - oh."

"What is it, Sebastian? I'm arranging matches."

"Well, I - I thought you - ... I'd better go."

"Yes, I think you'd better had." ( sings morose melody )

And you can't eat popcorn to that! You're going ( mimes trying to eat popcorn but getting frustrated and sighs ).

Whereas if the film did any little bit of business in America, if the film did some decent bit of business, then Hollywood would take it, and they'd remake it, and they'd up the budget by 50 million and it'd be called, "The Room With A View of Hell!" "Staircase of Satan! Pond of Death." And have people open the door, going,

"You're fucking in here all the time! All the time you're in here with the fucking matches!...."


...watch the rest of the clip ;-)

He then goes into a comparison between a British version of Star Wars vs. the current version. The clip ends shortly after that but then he talks about The Great Escape.... and yeah. Eddie Izzard tends to make references to earlier jokes in current ones, so sometimes things won't make sense unless you've seen all the jokes prior to what he's currently talking about. (For example -- babies on spikes, and the queen with a brick.)

[A year ago today... bread from California Pizza Kitchen.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.