just be

By justbe

Doe eyes

Doe Eyes
by Raymond A. Foss

Out of the fog of dusk
she stood motionless
watching in stillness
the rush of human life
hurtling past her
on the shoulder
in the short grass

Her head turned slightly
cautiously leftward, northward
toward my Doppler hum
closing the gap between us

A fleeting joining
her doe eyes,
and my bespectacled ones,
thanking her
for sharing
the apron of her home
the curtilage of the wood
with me that night



This is just a slightly cropped shot of a young regular doe-eyed visitor. I love the lone long hair in the middle of her lovely head. She and another frequent our backyard and woods so often that they let me get very close, 300mm Nikkor prime in hand. Daily they denude our shrubs and trees, deposit dangerous deer ticks and fill my every sense with wonder. Graceful, pungent and so very wild, they make steady, lengthy eye contact before bounding off, white tails like flags flouncing with every leap.

Flounce

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.