Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

Take5

It was only a matter of time before this lovely bar / bistro / gallery featured in my blip journal.

Established about 20-odd years ago by the lovely Marilda, a feisty, charismatic Frenchwoman and friend of mine, for the past 5 years or so Take5 has been situated in Tombland, opposite the Anglican cathedral in what used to be the old Luis Marchesi pub. Marilda and her husband Nic, together with their lovely staff have created this fabulous place that I consider to be my local, even though it's about a 30 minute walk from where I live.

Over the years Roland and I have dreamed dreams, hatched plans, celebrated successes, cried over losses and shared our fears here. And when he's not conducting non-religious funerals, weddings or namings Rol works as a stand-in barman/waiter.

It reminds me a little bit of the 'brown cafes' in Amsterdam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.