Kingkaiser

By Kingkaiser

Concrete Jungle

A mate from work was meant to be playing football tonight up at Sighthill but the ref never turned up so no game to watch and no blip for me! I then noticed the three big tower blocks running next to the pitch and that one is all set for demolition. I remember a few years back the smaller flats in this estate being knocked down so it will be strange to see these flats go as well. They're not the prettiest but you could always spot them from miles away not matter where you were in the west side of Edinburgh.

A few years back I played football on the pitch next to these flats every couple of weeks as this was deemed our 'home' ground. Due to the high flats and the bleak weather that always seemed to accompany our home games there, away teams use to find it rather intimidating to play there. So I feel its rather fitting to see this picture in black and white rather than colour as every time I drive past these flats now it always brings back memories of all the cold, wet and windy Saturdays I spent next to these grim eye sores.

Sighthill flats demolition

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.