Finding Happy

By findinghappy

The View From Above

I ran away to Wilmington, NC to stay with my sister a few days after my long term boyfriend and I parted ways. I needed a break from New York, and reality, and memories, and so I bought an extravagantly overpriced plane ticket to Myrtle Beach and was on a plane within 2 days. This is a picture from the Airplane leaving Myrtle Beach, and I've never had a more captivating and breathtaking view from a plane window in all my days flying. The sky was so clear you could see the entire coastline outlined with white beaches, and the shadows of the clouds on the Ocean looked almost like hidden coral reefs hundreds of feet below the water. I had noticed when I first took my seat that there were smudges on the plane window that looked like they had come from someone who had leaned their head on the window. At the time I wondered why someone would do that...but within 5 minutes of take-off I understood. I was mesmerized by the beauty of what I saw through my smudgy little window and I couldn't tear my eyes away from the landscape before me: the earth partitioned off into little squares of different colors, and all of it defined by the white coastline. It was like seeing the outline of a grade school map following that white line with your eyes and watching it twist and turn until it eventually made a sharp right angle and defined the edge of the state. This picture does it no justice whatsoever, but flying away from Wilmington, and back to New York and the problems and challenges awaiting me i felt like a part of something larger and more beautiful and exciting than myself. Seeing what lay before me, gave me hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.