dark|adapted

By dark

Wherever I Lay My Hat



So - back to dealing with the house today.

The people loading out the contents are nice enough, but they just don't seem to care. They've been at it all week - finishing up today - and there are little things strewn all over the house, things broken that weren't broken before, or dropped out of boxes or cabinets and just left to be trampled. I even found old negatives, photos of my grandmother, getting mangled in the floor of the tv room - I'm not even sure how they ended up in that room.

Anyway, the movers just don't seem to get it. All they appear to be concerned about are the big things - the large furniture they can clean and return to the rebuilt house. The things that could actually be replaced.

But it's precisely the little things - the ones they're trampling all over and don't give a s*** about - those are the things that concern me the most. The random detritus of a lifetime that can never be replaced. The last twenty years of my life, reduced to a carpet of rubble under bored movers' feet.






Sorry - I know I'm kind of dropping you into the middle of the story here on blip. I'll backblip the last couple of weeks later today, to catch you up on what brought me to this dire situation.










Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.