CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A Jay comes to eat

After feeding Bomble early this morning, I looked through the open back door and saw a large pair of bird wings swooping past. I clocked the Jay flying straight to the peanuts in a hanging feeder.

I rushed upstairs to get my camera, which luckily had the zoom on it. To save time, I decided I had to take a picture from my study, and if I opened the bigger windows for better control, it would probably scare the Jay away.

So I stood on tiptoe and poked the camera down from the small top window which was open. I had no time to adjust anything. The Jay had by now moved from the peanuts to the fat balls and was looking towards the sun. I luckily managed to keep the cameras reasonably still with a nearly high enough shutter speed. I would have preferred a little time for adjustments, but I also like the constraint of having to react quickly. so this picture will do for me now.

A few seconds and three pictures later it had flown away, dramatically swooping around the cabin and the trees in the garden next door, to alight in a big ash tree next to the footpath. It was exciting to see such a big bird come into the garden at will, and to have caught it in action. It's also good to have blipped before my first coffee of the day, which I can now look forward to brewing.

For those who care, I might be meeting that long lost blipper Dailykeith in a few hours! It was Keith who first introduced me to blipfoto. He now concentrates on writing his own excellent blog, with his fine pictures too, HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.