PrimeMart

By PrimeMart

Holidays have Started

Does anyone remember the adverts in the late 70's for Picnic chocolate bar, in which they were sat on top of this bridge?

For many of you, myself included, a view of this bridge as you drive across the river Tamar in to Cornwall, means that your holiday has well and truly started!



I trapsed all over Saltash today to try and get a good vantage point of this bridge. I took numerous unsatisfactory shots from different locations, was just about to give up when I found this vantage point. I got set up with my tripod and attempted to recall the little I know about aperture and shutter speed; i fiddled around with the composition and got everything just right. I was just about to press the button and then along came these 2 blooming great steam trains and ruined my shot!

We travelled to Saltash today to visit my Nan. En route we had to navigate a traffic light controlled cross roads. Under normal circumstances this present no problems. But this is Cornwall. In Cornwall they set the traffic lights to first stop all the traffic so that the junction is clear... then allow all the traffic from all the directions to go at the same time. Anyway, my Nan proudly showed us her banana tree (which we have seen before) and the big flower on it, which we have not.

Is does not require any research to see that this bridge was built in 1859. I think my Nan laid the keystone! Isambard Kingdom was obviously a very busy man who Running Backwards knows much more about than me.

Back to South Glos tomorrow in an attempt to beat the exodus back from Cornwall/Devon normally associated with the end of a Bank Holiday.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.