Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Who am I to disagree?

Been thinking about changing my journal name. When I started off there was the thoughts of making meaningful comments on society. I've never been one for sitting on the fence, tending to take one side or the other and I'd like to think that in doing that I may provoke a response that may well convince me to get onto the other side of the fence. However those that follow my daily drivel know that it's not very often that I voice such opinions - more a journal these days, what I've seen and what I've been up to.

So today we were on top of Ivinghoe Beacon and we saw this Lion carved into the hillside.

It is a blatant advert for Whipsnade Wild Animal Park. There is no mythical historical reason for this being there. It is a scar on the countryside, perhaps McDonalds or Coca-Cola would like their trademarks emblazoned on the English countryside too. I'm sure there are a few prime sites that could be made available for an appropriate contribution to the landowner.

The history of the park / lion as per wiki is that a derelict farm on the Dunstable Downs was purchased by the Zoological Society of London in 1926. The first animals arrived at the park in 1928 and Whipsnade Park Zoo opened on Sunday 23 May 1931. It was the first open zoo in Europe to be easily accessible to the visiting public. It was an immediate success and received over 38,000 visitors on the following Monday. The distinctive white lion hill figure was completed in 1933. - Who am I to disagree? I do like that journal name, so it might hang around a bit longer - or maybe not, we'll see.

RCB's gone for a slightly less controversial Ivinghoe Beacon sight, a Wheatear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.