Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Throw away society.

I know I should be used to this by now.... but l am still appalled at the amount of stuff that gets thrown away.

I took a trip to the dump this morning to throw my stuff away - a Hi Fi combo unit some 16 years old.

I know that white goods and electrical's aren't supposed to last much longer than the length of their warranty. The horrifying reality that this translates into is, huge quantities of stuff being chucked out that is only a few years old. This was an empty container less than an hour earlier and Letchworth isn't a big city!

I know this is a classic weekend for people to get stuff done - but still.........

I slung it in the correct container so maybe some bits will be recycled. I have my doubts and I wonder how sustainable this behaviour is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.