The eye of the beholder..

By kimthecase

Not my latest hobbie

Not my latest hobbie........bee keeping.......can you imagine, well don't laugh to loudly as by rights i should have followed on the family tradition......this has been stuck down the side of my parents shed for the last ten years or so, covered and kept, but not used......it was one of four....... "mum have you got any of granddads hive's left" i enquire, then i listen to mum and dad, discuss amongst themselves, that i could not possibly want that old thing, its falling apart,(dad's opinion, which was right), but i could see a glint in my mother's eye, at the though of it being used and remaining in the family, whether bee keeping or show............so here it is painted up, over fifty years old, my grandad using it to keep and collect swarm's from peoples garden when he got the emergency phone call of HELP...........when he passed away, my dad did it....... they have had good use, , much honey.......and now this last one in retirement........ i hope to keep it glued together with sticky back paper, if necessary,lol........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.