Must try harder....

By mikesnos

Tears before Bedtime...

... the tale of a ruined Easter Sunday.

Today I had a number of blips in mind before I settled on the one shown.

This morning we repotted (by 'we' I mean the other half doing what we'd both been independently thinking of doiing) our Peace Lily that resides in the bathroom. Recently it had been looking a little limp rather than perky and glossy!

While filling the pot with Compost t'other 'alf spotted something moving and picked out a small baby Newt (1year old(ish)). You see; this is what happens when you buy a bag of compost, use a little and then leave it outside for a year or so....

Needless to say the sight of a rescued Newt in the palm of the hand is required blipping.... Sadly events transpired that would result in me changing my mind.

After the joy of seeing a Newt 20 yards from our pond, I went off to what I thought was a lunch do 20 miles away. I get to the venue and was greeted with surprise... My heart sank.... There was no 'do'.... Worse, much worse, was to come... It transpired that the venue owner had been invited to another 'do' to which I hadn't been invited. My heart was in my 'boots' now (I was wearing trainers, who wears boots in 20+ degrees?).

I returned home not wishing to impose further on either set of 'hosts' and feeling rather low.... I was however cheered a great deal by the loving and caring welcome from t'other 'alf as I arrived home early :-)

I had a number of ideas for blips to reflect my mood on the way home....

- An isolated tree in a field illustrating desolation.... Hackneyed, cliched and done to death. Idea rejected.
- A spider on it's own illustrating being unwanted and unloved.... Rejected since some people don't like spiders and besides I'm rather hoping I'm not unwanted and unloved.
-A slug, on the same principle as number two... Rejected since I find Slugs repulsive and repellant. I rather hope I'm neither of those ;-)

So finally, I decided to just 'grab the mood' as you do, and got t'other half to photograph me looking glum... So here we are, a pic of me looking glum for once. I try and avoid being glum as a rule since it gets me down and I'd much rather be happy.

Enjoy your Easter everyone, cherish and love your families and friends and remind them that they are loved and cherished. I know my family are (and do!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.