shiny things

By josh

Due tomorrow

Senior biology exit interview. Luckily it's more to judge their program than it is to determine if I get my BS; fauna isn't my thing. I get to discuss this paper for 10-15 minutes then two PhDs fire questions at me for the rest of the time. One is the ecology/evolution guy (no worries there) and the other is the super-stickler cellular/molecular biology guy (oh shit. I don't know crap about cellular processes other than reproduction and some plant-hormone stuff).

This paper boils down to this: can this sea snail tune into other sea snail species' distress signals and react accordingly, and are the effects greater when they're more closely related? They can, and the effects ARE greater.

Come on now. Sea snails?

edit: weird, this isn't as sharp as it was on my screen. I resize stuff on my computer to make sure it looks OK but... huh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.