this luminous life.

By Laura

Midnight Snack.

You Say Party! We Say Die!

What was supposed to be an attempt at maintaining a good mood,
(i.e. treating myself to Arby's today)
turned out to be associated with a bunch of minor annoyances.
I don't really feel like getting into it right now.
But at least I have a couple sandwiches
when I get hungry in a few hours :)

---

Last night (or in the early hours of the morning, rather), Shaun and I had a discussion about food -- and how I'm afraid to try new things (my reasoning? most things I try, I end up disliking or wasting money on) and that I should try new things. I've come to a realization that it's not that I'm afraid to try new things, it's just that I've been conditioned to like the same things for such a long time. I rarely get a chance to try new foods. Plus, most of my food in the past four years has come from home (good, but the same usual things) or the dining hall (bad, and the same usual things). The dining hall is just terrible for me lately. I often get sick after eating the food and never actually leave feeling full. I end up pretty much being hungry all day.

We also talked briefly about how much universities really charge for their dining hall plans and how ridiculous it is that they basically get free money from charging about $12 a meal.... and most students don't even eat every meal in the dining hall, or consume only a bowl of cereal. Hardly worth $12. This only adds on to my frustration that I'm forced to live in the dorms and stay on a meal plan all four years here. And apartment style dorms were limited (I didn't get on). So I don't have a kitchen. I need a kitchen. I need to eat good food.

This isn't a rant or anything.
The discussion with Shaun only sparked
my intent to get some food that wasn't dining hall.
Although Arby's isn't new food for me or anything,
or a super healthy alternative,
it's definitely a nice break. :)

---

[A year ago today... saran-wrapped SUV.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.