Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Fish

After years of saying "I am definitely not having fish in the pond", I changed my mind. Which was the right thing to do, as they are a source of fascination and relaxation, if not protein, for all friends who visit the garden.

I suspect we lost one Shubunkin over the recent winter, but that's hardly surprising when temperatures were as low as -20 and the pond was iced, and snowed, over for weeks, other than where water ran in from the pump.
Watching the fish provides me with (I was going to say hours, but that might be over-egging it just a tad) many minutes of interest, whether over breakfast coffee or on a more leisurely afternoon or evening.

Others may mock, but I notice that anyone who comes/goes into the garden ends up standing by the pond. So there it is, or rather, there they are. Fish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.