Life Naturally

By lifenaturally

Can't always trust the GPS.....

Grateful thanks to you all for your warm and loving comments about yesterday's blip!!

Easter Sunday with the family actually started last evening as I wanted to be part of the annual egg hunt with my grandsons. We all slept soundly and ooh-ed and ah-ed over the baskets and the candy, and had chocolate cream eggs for breakfast!! (Hope you're reading this, Appreciation ;0 )

What I didn't say yesterday is that today is my birthday. (My mother always said I was the best present she ever received...)

Anyway, we're all outdoorsy types so an adventure and picnic at the Myakka River State Park seemed a better way to celebrate two holidays than a stiff, sit-down dinner. My daughter seldom gets lost, but the GPS really did her wrong this time. We wandered around in Florida scrub and pasture land for an awfully long time before she admitted defeat. This photo was taken on Clay Gully Road, and when we stopped the car to get our bearings, the six year old said, "Boy, this is the middle of nowhere." And how right he was! So how could I not photograph such truth? After a hearty family giggle, we finally got on the right road, and made it to our destination. This photo qualifies for an "Old Florida" blip, as well.

The picnic was delicious, we saw several alligators, it was wonderfully hot and buggy as only Florida picnics can be, and a fun day was had by all. Spending time with my wonderful family is the best present I could have!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.