Show your working...

By beccy

Some win

These fetching and high quality bracelets? Why, I won them.

You know those 2p shove machines in the arcades? Sometimes they have prizes balanced tantalisingly on top of the precarious pile of tuppences. You never win them, they never move any closer to the edge. Well, today was different. Today I succeeded in tipping these bracelets off the moving ledge and into my pile of winnings, accompanied by a satisfyingly loud shower of coins.

My triumph at winning these three plastic bangles is really something to be quite ashamed of. The 2p machines are the only type of gambling I ever indulge in. I'm no good at gambling in general, due to getting over excited. The fact that I've blipped these bracelets should give you some sense of that.

The arcade was in Wells Next the Sea. We used to visit regularly on family holidays when I was a kid and now my parents have retired nearby. Not because of the lure of the slot machines, I hasten to add. As a result I've been handing the arcade owner my cash since I was about 15. Today redressed 20 years of wasted pennies, in my mind. Today, I win.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.