The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Chocks Away Tufty!

A back blip.

Busy day. Managed to work my way through all the tedious household chores before lunch. I have the weirdest garden in the world. It's like some mad Esher painting, no matter which was I mowed, it seemed to be uphill!

At least putting my back into it meant I could get out and about with the camera in the afternoon. Took my fiancé to Newport Wetlands. It was mobbed there!

Didn't see a lot really. Managed to get a decent shot of a Wheatear on the shoreline. There were more Whitethroats singing, and we heard a woodpecker drumming where the Little Owls weren't (again!). Dawn was certain she saw a Bearded Tit, which I did not (heavier sigh!).

This obliging Tufted Duck took off just as we crossed the "bouncy bridge" and I managed to get another "in flight" shot. The setting sun lit him quite nicely, would have preferred still wings, but the blur gives the photograph some movement.

From there, we went in search of the elusive Goldcliffe Lagoons. Much spoken about, but impossible to find. We actually discovered them. Cracking birding spot, with three nice viewing platforms, my yearning for a longer lens grew by the minute.

There were yet more Whitethroats singing, and that one landed right next to the viewing platform. Despite reeling off three or four shots, never caught him with his beak open. This is turning into a Whitethroat spring for me!

One last shot in the setting sun ... and one to make you go .. ahhhh!

Other birds in flight blips.

Black Headed Gull
Urban Gull

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.