forty six and 2

By paulclenahan

Empty Platform

This is chester-le-street train station. i had hoped to capture a train whizzing through here, but after hanging around for a while, took a few snaps and headed home. none of the came out terribly well, so i just made this one black and white.... dull blip, i know.

I used to catch the train from here every day to get to work in newcastle. you see the same faces day in day out, all heading to the same jobs, with little change.

I rarely get the train now, i tend to cycle, but on the odd day i do i still stand with the same folk waiting to make our way to the mundane 9 -5.

recently, a regular on my train was knocked over and killed at a pedestrian crossing about 200yds from my house. i didn't know the guy, but knew of him. my wife is on first name terms with his mother. he lived two streets from me, and was on his way to work as every morning.

it felt odd, him not being there, and even though nobody speaks while waiting for the train, i got the feeling the regulars felt it too.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.