She left me on Friday...

By DiscoDown

Fat goose

It was my birthday just over a week ago. I'm not easy to buy for these days as I don't really want that much anymore, at least not anything that is affordable as a birthday gift. My wife always does a good job of picking up the little things she knows I'll like, though, even if I haven't specifically mentioned them.

This photo, taken by Nicole Bengiveno in 1992, is from a National Geographic compilation book called Through The Lens, which was one of two photography books my wife got for my birthday. I particularly like photos like this one as they catch my attention for being so completely different from my own life and make me stop for a moment to think about what is going on in the shot. I've seen this photo a number of times before and have always wondered what the story is behind it. I have now found out that there isn't one. It's simply a picture of an Albanian man taking a goose home to his family for dinner. I think I like that even better than a complicated and interesting story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.