RustyKlicker

By RustyKlicker

Getting the balance right.

Its been a lovely day and a bit of a mixture as far as work and pleasure are concerned.

I have always tried to live in the present, believing that you have to live a little and sometimes a lot, but not to go through life holding back too much. You are a long time dead as they say, and trying to live it up when you are no longer physically able...must suck.

Now that philosophy has been severely tested in the last couple of years as the economy and business difficulties curtailed my enthusiasm somewhat. That is compounded by having no money and serious concerns about future work prospects. So work and more work has been the order of the day.

But the last few months have been pretty good and there are more opportunities on the horizon, so the confidence to mix the business and pleasure up a bit is returning. The trouble is, just when you decide it's okay to have a morning on the golf course and catch up with work later in the day, the world in which you work seems to collapse just to make you feel guilty.

I came off the course at lunchtime to numerous phone calls, emails and phone messages all desperately needing me...apparently. It's nice to be wanted and perhaps a further sign that demand for ones services is growing, but it has just meant that the rest of my day is now super stressful and I am left wondering if I should have bothered in the first place. I even played crap when I was there!!

Anyway, there's nothing like lying on your belly on the grass trying to get a decent Macro shot of a flower, to take your mind of it for a short while.

Oh and the other good thing is a mid week Chinese carry out. Woo hoo!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.