WorldLens

By worldlens

Spicy Shrimp

The students have been cooking for a conference this week, making enough food for 120 people three times a day. They are exhausted by evening. I walked into the kitchen and asked if I could help with anything. A few dishes were partially started, so I had the option between popping the heads off shrimp or peeling potatoes. I chose the potatoes. Peeling about 40 pounds/18 kg of potatoes reminded me of Thanksgiving. Unfortunately, we weren't mashing them...sad day.

On the other side of the kitchen, a few shrimp were rescued before they went into the stir-fried veggy dish. Well, I don't know if rescued is the right word. They didn't go into the hot pan but were "cooked" in lemon juice, smothered in chilies then consumed by a few students. I politely declined eating the raw little creatures. They aren't my favorite to begin with, and I'm sure some of the other students enjoyed them much more than I would have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.