Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Crowdy Head Lighthouse

I had to go to Taree for work today. Taree is about a 2 hour drive north of Newcastle. I did a little detour on the way home to Crowdy Head. I was hoping for a lovely clear sunny image but the blip gods were against me and it was a grey dull rainy day. Wet again! I am making sacrifices to the blip gods for good weather for tomorrow and the weekend.

Crowdy Head lighthouse is unmanned. Here are some facts for those who are interested in lighthouses:

LOCATION: Lat. 31° 50.7' S, Long. 152° 45.3' E
OPERATOR: Australian Maritime Safety Authority
EXHIBITED: 1878
CONSTRUCTION: Stone
CHARACTER: Group Flashing 2 every 10 seconds
LIGHT SOURCE: Mains Electricity
POWER SOURCE: Mains Power
INTENSITY: 28,000 cd
ELEVATION: 61 metres
RANGE: 16 nautical miles
HEIGHT: 7.3 metres
AUTOMATED: 1928
DEMANNED: 1928

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.