Wayfarer

By wayfarer

Get Your Kicks

A very lazy, last minute blip.
I'm off to Chicago on Sunday, taking a tour along Route 66. I make compilation cds for most of my trips, of music that has some connection with places we visit or pass through. Of course, I have to take into account that not everyone likes everything so I have to play it safe. My taste is very broad, so I should be able to keep them happy. They will still get a dose of Howlin' Wolf, Muddy Waters, Native American Music, Latin, Western Swing, Jazz and several versions of Route 66.
To me, the music is part of the landscape; it comes from the people who live there and it is shaped by their environment. I'm a bit evangelical about this stuff and I live in hope that one or two of them will connect with it. Sometimes they do, sometimes they don't. I've made three compilations which I will drip feed them as we head west plus a good old country & western compilation that they can sing along to - nothing to do with where we will be but it goes down well.

They'll be hearing this...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.