Ink Polaroids

By inkpolaroids

trees

Ah. A lovely sunny day (well, sunny afternoon, the morning was pure dreadful) so what better way to celebrate God's gift of glorious colour than with a black and white photo.

Yeeeeeeeees, as Jeremy Paxman might say.

So why the B&W you might ask. Well, today has been a black and white sort of day. Started out at the hospital getting a scan to find out why I've a lump (a 2.5cm lump as it turns out) under my ribcage, followed by the funeral of a colleague of mine who died of cancer pretty much a month to the day he found out he had it. All very grim I'm sure you'll agree.

Now normally I find funerals quite life affirming. After all, they're dead, I'm not, so I've got nothing to complain about. Except today, given the passenger I am carrying, life affirming wasn't on the agenda. I was hoping to Blip a picture of a new, young, bright flower in amongst a bunch of wilted dead ones, but somehow I just couldn't find the right shot.

Walking through the rows of graves back towards the car I spotted this beautiful tree with the sun streaming through it and decided to take that picture instead, the bright sunlight givin the tree a wonderful golden aura.

Except I'd forgotten to change the lens back to colour, so instead ended up with this B&W shot which I feel works just as well, the bright light of the sun reflecting hope and life, the black reflecting my natural pessimism and general feeling of unease right now.

Back to the doctor on monday for the results. Fingers crossed.

{snap}

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.